fbpx
The Torch of Progress

The Torch of Progress – Ep. 13 with Adam Wiggins

Ashley Yates

Join us for episode 13 of The Torch of Progress with Adam Wiggins

Wednesday, September 23, 10 am PT / 11 am MT / 12 pm CT / 1 pm ET
Register to attend

Key Discussion Points:

Thomas Edison, Bell Labs, ARPA, and Xerox PARC: what do all of these people and groups have in common? They are all pioneers of the industrial research model.

Basic science concerns itself with the search for truth, without any focus on how its findings may impact human existence. Business (even innovation ones like Silicon Valley startups) tend to put existing technology into practice, rather than inventing something new. Industrial research sits in the middle of this spectrum, seeking to find breakthrough ideas that have commercial application on a five- to ten-year time horizon.

I’ll walk through this history, which was a big influence for our independent research lab, Ink & Switch (www.inkandswitch.com).

Guest Speaker Adam Wiggins:

Hi, I’m Adam, and my mission is to improve computers and the internet in service of human prosperity.

Right now I’m building Muse, which turns your iPad into a tool for thought. In the past I founded the Ink & Switch research lab and Heroku. I design products, build teams, write, podcast, and occasionally invest. I’m from California but have settled in Berlin.

Follow me on Twitter: @hirodusk

Previously on The Torch of Progress:

Up Next:

  • Episode 14 with Manjari Narayan
  • Episode 15 with Michael Strong
  • Episode 16 with Sarah Constantin

Join the Next Cohort

Interested in joining the next cohort of Progress Studies for Young Scholars? Join the waitlist here.

Get annoucments

Our guest speakers include experts on the history of science, technology, and industry, as well as those on the frontier. It’s open to all—sign up for our mailing list to get event invitations.