fbpx
The Torch of Progress

The Torch of Progress, Ep. 10 with Laura Mazer

Ashley Yates

Join us for episode 10 of The Torch of Progress with Laura Mazer, Assistant Professor of Surgery, Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery, University of Michigan.

Wednesday, August 19, 10 am PT / 11 am MT / 12 pm CT / 1 pm ET
Register to attend

Key Discussion Points:

– The history and future of surgery,
– How we can improve surgical practice

Guest Speaker Laura Mazer:

Dr. Laura Mazer is a faculty member in the Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery. Her surgical training was completed at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Stanford University, where she also completed a fellowship in Surgical Education and a Master’s in Health Professions Education. She completed a fellowship in Minimally Invasive Surgery at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center prior to joining the faculty at the University of Michigan. She is the recipient of multiple local and national teaching awards, including the Association for Surgical Education Outstanding Resident Teacher Award in 2016 and the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching in 2018.

Clinical Specialization:
Dr. Mazer’s practice is broad-based general surgery, with a focus on foregut surgery and hernia surgery at St. Joseph Mercy Chelsea Hospital. She offers open, laparoscopic, and robotic options for hernia repair, surgical treatment of GERD, bariatric surgery, and other diseases of the esophagus, stomach, and small intestine.

Research:
Dr. Mazer’s research focuses on improving medical education through an understanding of behavioral and organizational psychology. By understanding how people work and learn in high-stress environments, she aims to improve how medicine is taught.

Previously on The Torch of Progress:

Up Next:

Join the Next Cohort

Interested in joining the next cohort of Progress Studies for Young Scholars? Join the waitlist here. The first 100 applicants will receive 2 free books on science and engineering!

Get annoucments

Our guest speakers include experts on the history of science, technology, and industry, as well as those on the frontier. It’s open to all—sign up for our mailing list to get event invitations.